Autumn Grace

some things that are interesting and uninteresting

Mortifying Sin to Magnify Christ June 19, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Charissa @ 1:52 pm

On Saturday morning of Resolved Conference, I got to meet with Leslie Davis (my RD, my mentor, my friend) for a cup of coffee at Starbucks and catch up from the past couple of years. God used this conversation to set a tone focused on Jesus Christ for the weekend. She helped me to see one thing that I may be missing in my pursuit against sin, namely perspective. We fight sin not because we merely need to put off the sin, but because the worship of Jesus Christ is at stake.

If I am in sin, it is because there is something wrong with my relationship with Christ. I am not in a quest against sin simply to get rid of sin in my life, but to magnify and worship Christ. The issue is whether or not I worship CHRIST, not whether or not I am dealing with a specific sin. The specific sin is evidence that I am worshipping something other than Christ, and need to repent of worshipping something other than Christ.

I tend to focus on getting rid of sin and to put it to death, but the turning from one to the other is not in itself the focus. If the turning for the purpose of looking more righteous, or so that my sin is not so grossly obvious, it is all in vain. If I am grossly aware of it and, get discouraged and dragged down by it, thinking that I am such an ill-deserving sinner that I cannot ever get back to the place of worshipping God rightly, my thoughts are also unbiblical.

I cannot ever repent of worshipping another idol, or begin worshipping Christ, or focus on Him unless in his divine intervention allows me to do so! I am completely inadequate to trust Christ. I cannot believe the gospel without Him, or put off and put on sin. I cannot turn from unrighteousness to righteousness. The only thing that matters is that Christ is magnified, and therefore I trust Christ to turn from sin, to repent, to put on righteousness, and to worship Him alone – all for the magnitude of Christ! He does the work, and he gets the glory.

 

2 Responses to “Mortifying Sin to Magnify Christ”

  1. Well said, Charissa. Throughout the extent of Christian’s redeemed life, we mature by being constantly reacquainted with the potency of the Father’s grace.

    It is much like how Martin Luther, in his commentary on Galatians, described the struggle of experiencing and comprehending God’s glory when we consider the gift of grace and the peace it brings with it:

    “The article of justification must be sounded in our ears incessantly because the frailty of our flesh will not permit us to take hold of it perfectly and to believe it with all our heart….

    Grace remits sin, and peace quiets the conscience. Sin and conscience torment us, but Christ has overcome these fiends now and forever. Only Christians possess this victorious knowledge given from above. These two terms, grace and peace, constitute Christianity. Grace involves the remission of sins, peace, and a happy conscience. Sin is not canceled by lawful living, for no person is able to live up to the Law. The Law reveals guilt, fills the conscience with terror, and drives men to despair. Much less is sin taken away by man-invented endeavors. The fact is, the more a person seeks credit for himself by his own efforts, the deeper he goes into debt. Nothing can take away sin except the grace of God. In actual living, however, it is not so easy to persuade oneself that by grace alone, in opposition to every other means, we obtain the forgiveness of our sins and peace with God.

    The world brands this a pernicious doctrine. The world advances free will, the rational and natural approach of good works, as the means of obtaining the forgiveness of sin. But it is impossible to gain peace of conscience by the methods and means of the world. Experience proves this. Various holy orders have been launched for the purpose of securing peace of conscience through religious exercises, but they proved failures because such devices only increase doubt and despair. We find no rest for our weary bones unless we cling to the word of grace.”

    http://blueletterbible.org/Comm/martin_luther/Gal/Gal001.html

  2. Sarah Says:

    i love you charissa!


Leave a comment