Autumn Grace

some things that are interesting and uninteresting

Seeing with New Eyes March 5, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Charissa @ 6:31 am

We cannot see with new eyes until we repent. So often we have a new idea, a new person, a new place or something that grabs our heart, and we convince ourselves that this thing will change our lives and transform all the difficult and the bad things about it. However, this is truly not the case. We can only be transformed by the sovereign grace of God in our hearts, as he grants us faith in repentance. Ephesians 2:8, “For by GRACE, you have been saved through faith. And this is not your own doing, it is the GIFT of God.”

I am so thankful to God today for repentance! I am not stuck in my sin, but am saved from it. Tonight we had a praise night at one28, and many students shared how God is working in their lives. Many shared about the sin that they are seeing and repenting of even a month after SR09. It is a joy to see this kind of faith and a joy to see God changing lives.

For sure the True Joy in God is far more satisfying than the emptiness of false idols and sin. The True Joy is worth fighting for and repenting over. It is worth the battle.

Today, God’s work of repentance in my heart gave me a fresh love and adoration of Him. Happy that God chose me for repentance, and happy to meditate on John 15.

“Abide in me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear much fruit by itself, unless it abides in the vine, neither can you, unless you abide in me. I am the vine; you are the branches. Whoever abides in me and I in him, he it is that bears much fruit, for apart from me you can do nothing.” (verses 4-5)

“By this my Father is glorified, that you bear much fruit and so prove to be my disciples. As the Father has loved me, so I have loved you. Abide in my love.  If you keep my commandments, you will abide in my love, just as I have kept my Father’s commandments and abide in his love. These things I have spoken to you, that my joy may be in you, and that your joy may be full.” (verses 8-11)

You did not choose me, but I chose you and appointed you that you should go and bear fruit and that your fruit should abide,  so that whatever you ask the Father in my name, he may give it to you. These things I command you,  so that you will love one another.” (verses 16-17)

 

Leave a comment